The Parish of Three Saints

An Overview of the Parish

A brief history of The Parish of Three Saints

In the medieval period there were three separate parishes for the villages of South Brent, Brentmarshe and Lymplesham, and each had a significant church.  By the end of the nineteenth century the villages became known as Brent Knoll, East Brent and Lympsham respectively.  During the 1970's the Parishes were brought together to operate as a Benefice served by a single priest.  In 2011 a decision was made to form a single Parish and The Parish of Three Saints came into being in 2012.

The new Parish has a population of 3,400, which is concentrated in the villages of Brent Knoll, East Brent, Lympsham and Rooksbridge.  It includes the communities of Edingworth and Eastertown.  The hill of Brent Knoll is a local landmark that is clearly seen from the M5 motorway which passes close by.  The village of Brent Knoll itself circles the hill and merges into East Brent on the north side of the Knoll.  Lympsham lies to the north of East Brent and is a separate village.  Since the days of the Benefice Sunday services have been held in rotation at the three Parish churches.  This practice continues in The Parish of Three Saints.